In short: Suits those who need a UnionPay card for China and other Asian countries. Russians and non-residents should check account-opening terms in advance, and Mir cards are not supported.
Terms for non-residents
- Non-residents
- Yes
- Remote account opening
- Check with the bank
- Visa / Mastercard
- Yes
- Russian-language support
- No / not stated
- Owner
- ACBA Federation CJSC: 81.62%, SACAM International: 4.55%, others: 13.83% (per the bank's profile, around mid-2024)
- Founded
- 1996
- Size
- AMD 1,140 billion in assets (about $3.15 billion) as of 30 June 2026, third in the country
- License
- Central Bank of Armenia license No. 70
- UnionPay Gold
- AMD 15,000 a year (AMD 12,000 if ordered through acba digital), valid for 60 months
- Credit line on UnionPay Gold
- Up to AMD 18,000,000
- Business card
- UnionPay Business for companies and sole proprietors
- Head office
- 82-84 Aram Street, Yerevan (new building opened in October 2026)
- App
- acba digital (cards ordered there are discounted); check the interface language in the app
Pros
- The first bank in Armenia to issue UnionPay International cards (since May 2024)
- Cards are issued to non-residents too, both individuals and companies
- Card tariffs are published, and ordering in the app is cheaper
- The third-largest bank in the country by assets
Cons and limits
- Account-opening terms for non-residents and Russians, and the option of remote opening, must be confirmed with the bank
- The UnionPay Gold application on the website is in Armenian
- Mir cards are not supported
- The bank does not state whether it is connected to the SBP
## About the bank
The bank was founded in 1996 under the European Union's TACIS programme. The main shareholder is ACBA Federation with 81.62%, SACAM International holds 4.55% and the rest belongs to individuals and companies (data from the bank's profile, around mid-2024). It holds Central Bank of Armenia license No. 70.
As of 30 June 2026 its assets were AMD 1,140 billion, third place after Ardshinbank and Ameriabank, with growth of 20.47% over the year. In October 2026 the bank marked its 30th anniversary and opened a new head office at 82-84 Aram Street in Yerevan.
## Account for non-residents
The bank issues UnionPay cards to non-residents as well. The account-opening procedure, the list of documents and the option of remote opening are not described on the website. A Russian applicant should contact the bank in advance and find out what is required for identification. It is worth comparing the terms with Ameriabank, which describes its remote procedure in detail.
## Cards and payments
The bank's main distinction is UnionPay. The card is accepted in China and other Asian countries where this network is widespread, so it is useful for people who travel there.
| Card | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| UnionPay Gold | AMD 15,000 a year (AMD 12,000 via the app) | AMD, USD, EUR; 60 months; credit line up to AMD 18,000,000 |
| ArCa Classic | AMD 3,500 a year (AMD 2,500 via the app) | Drams only; 36 months; issued within 7 business days |
| Visa Classic | AMD 4,500 a year (AMD 3,500 via the app) | AMD, USD, EUR; 60 months |
| Mastercard Standard | AMD 4,500 a year (AMD 3,500 via the app) | Accepted in more than 200 countries |
| American Express Cashback | Free | Cashback on every purchase; 60 months |
The bank's page does not say whether UnionPay Gold is a debit or a credit card, so ask a manager. The same applies to American Express Cashback.
Mir cards are not supported; see VTB (Armenia) for Mir. For another UnionPay option, look at Evocabank.
## Tariffs and limits
Ordering a card through acba digital saves between AMD 1,000 and AMD 3,000 a year, depending on the card. Separate tariffs for non-residents are not shown on the card list page.
## Who it suits
- Travellers to China and other Asian countries.
- Non-residents who want a UnionPay card issued in Armenia.
- Those who want Visa and Mastercard cards with low service fees.
It does not suit those who need a Mir card or expect a clear step-by-step remote opening procedure.
Frequently asked questions
Does Acba Bank issue UnionPay cards to non-residents?
Yes. Since May 2024 the bank has issued UnionPay Gold and UnionPay Business to residents and non-residents, both individuals and legal entities. The application form on the website is in Armenian.
How much does UnionPay Gold cost?
AMD 15,000 a year, or AMD 12,000 if ordered through the acba digital app. The card is valid for 60 months and comes with a credit line of up to AMD 18,000,000.
Where can I pay with a UnionPay card?
In China and other Asian countries where the UnionPay network is widespread. At launch the bank reported acceptance in 183 countries.
Does the bank support Mir?
No. VTB (Armenia) is the only bank in Armenia where Mir cards are accepted.
Where does the bank rank by assets?
Third, with AMD 1,140 billion as of 30 June 2026. Assets grew by 20.47% over the year.
Where is the head office?
At 82-84 Aram Street in Yerevan. The bank opened its new office in October 2026, when it marked its 30th anniversary.